Associate Members

Associate members are York Faculty who sometimes engage in VISTA-related research, especially in collaboration with Core members and VISTA partners.

Scott Adler

Professor

Areas of Interest

Developmental Psychology; Child Development; Cognitive development

Contact Information
adler@yorku.ca

Alidad Amirfazli

Professor

Areas of Interest

Image based surface tensiometry methods; imaging and analysis of fast transfer of liquids between surfaces

Contact Information
alidad2@yorku.ca

Aijun An

Professor

Areas of Interest

Data mining and machine Learning; Classification, clustering, and pattern mining; Data stream mining

Contact Information
aan@eecs.yorku.ca

Costas Armenakis

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Photogrammetry; Unmanned aerial and ground mobile mapping systems; Remote sensing mapping

Contact Information
armenc@yorku.ca

Christopher Bergevin

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Biomechanics of the peripheral auditory system; Otoacoustic emissions; Nonlinear dynamics & coupled oscillator models

Contact Information
cberge@yorku.ca

Mary Bunch

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Interdisciplinary and collaborative critical disability, feminist, queer studies and critical theory, research creation and arts-based methodologies

Contact Information
bunch@yorku.ca

Patrick Cavanagh

Senior Research Fellow

Areas of Interest
Contact Information
patcav1@yorku.ca

Joseph DeSouza

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

My specific research interests lie within the realms of converting multisensory signals of vision, audition and touch into motor movements of the eyes, hand & body and how these mechanisms are modulated by various mechanisms of short and long term cognitive control, attention and suppression. I use a cognitive and systems neuroscience approaches using the technologies of functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (fMRI), magnetoencephalography (MEG), eyetracking and electrophysiology.

Contact Information
DeSouza@yorku.ca

Petros Faloutsos

Professor

Areas of Interest

Computer graphics; Autonomous agents for computer games and virtual world applications; Motion Control; Facial Animation; Interactive graphics and games on mobile devices; Micro-processor architectures for accelerating virtual world applications; Real-time photorealistic rendering; Medical robotics and visualization.

Contact Information
pfal@cse.yorku.ca

Caitlin Fisher

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Future of narrative; interactive storytelling; interactive cinema; Augmented Reality

Contact Information
caitlin@yorku.ca

David Gelb

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Design education; information architecture; user-centred research; technology enabled pedagogies

Contact Information
dgelb@yorku.ca

Ebrahim Ghafar-Zadeh

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Biologically inspired integrated sensors and actuators; Integrated circuits and microfluidics; Medical devices for visual assessment.

Contact Information
egz@eecs.yorku.ca

Jan Hadlaw

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

History of modern technology: representations of science and technology in popular culture; technology and the social imaginary; technology and nationalism; visual display and meaning.

Contact Information
jhadlaw@yorku.ca

Richard Hornsey

Professor

Areas of Interest

Electronic camera chips and networks of cameras; Aircraft collision avoidance; space systems; industrial inspection; machine vision; and vision rehabilitation.

Contact Information
richard.hornsey@lassonde.yorku.ca

Mark-David Hosale

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Nonlinear narrative as a representation of information, time and space; new media; virtual spaces

Contact Information
mdhosale@yorku.ca

Jimmy Huang

Professor

Areas of Interest

Information Technologies; Digital Library and Bioinformatics; Computational Linguistics; Data/Web/Data Mining

Contact Information
jhuang@yorku.ca

Hui Jiang

iFLYTEK Endowed Professor

Areas of Interest

Machine Learning / Pattern Classification; Deep Learning / Neural Networks; Natural Language Processing (language modelling, paraphrase, question and answering); Speech and Audio Processing (enhancement, recognition, human-machine dialogue); Computer Vision (object detection and cross-domain adaptation)

Contact Information
hj@cse.yorku.ca

Hossein Kassiri

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Implantable brain neural interfaces; Analog and Mixed Signal IC Design; Low Power Sensory microsystems; VLSI Implementation of biomedical signal processing algorithms; Wirelessly-Powered Medical devices

Contact Information
Hossein@eecs.yorku.ca

Burton Ma

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Computer-assisted surgery; image processing, image registration, visualization, surgical planning, error analysis, applications of computer assistance in orthopaedic surgery

Contact Information
burton@cse.yorku.ca

Janine Marchessault

Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Imax, S3D, large format film, architectural projection, video mapping, social media, interactive cinema, pervasive games

Contact Information
jmarches@yorku.ca

Ozzy Mermut

Dept of Physics & Astronomy, Faculty of Science

Areas of Interest

Biophotonic and complimentary multimodal biophysical techniques; the physics of degenerative diseases; biomarkers and signaling processes in aging.

Contact Information
omermut@yorku.ca

Joel Ong

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Multi-sensory Data Aesthetics, Computational Microbiology, Environmental Sensing

Contact Information
joelong@yorku.ca

Thanujeni Pathman

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Developmental cognitive neuroscience; Learning and memory

Contact Information
tpathman@yorku.ca

Tarmo Remmel

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Geography; Forestry; Remote Sensing; GIS, Spatial Pattern Analysis

Contact Information
remmelt@yorku.ca

Ken Rogers

Associate Dean

Areas of Interest

Alternative video; Contemporary media art; Crowd sourcing; Critical pedagogy; Biopolitics

Contact Information
krogers1@yorku.ca

Donald Sinclair

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Physical computing; Wearable computing; Interactive sound art; Laptop performance

Contact Information
dws@yorku.ca

Gunho Sohn

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; photogrammetry; machine learning; 3D augmented city modeling; unmanned aerial/ground vehicles; indoor SLAM; single-view 3D reconstruction; corridor mapping; structure from motion; object tracking; remote sensing; urban dynamics analytics; airborne laser point cloud analytics; indoor positioning; mobile augmented reality

Contact Information
gsohn@yorku.ca

Nima Tabatabaei

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Thermo-Photonic Imaging; Photo-Thermal Radiometry; Medical Image and Signal Analysis; Optical Coherence Tomography; Spectrally Encoded Confocal Microscopy; Early Dental Caries and GI Tract Imaging and Screening

Contact Information
nima.tabatabaei@lassonde.yorku.ca

Christine Till

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Children's environmental health; Clinical neuropsychology; Neurodegenerative disease; Cognitive rehabilitation

Contact Information
ctill@yorku.ca

Gary Turner

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Cognitive neuroscience; cognitive aging; cognitive neuro rehabilitation

Contact Information
grturner@yorku.ca

Doug Van Nort

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

AI and Machine Learning for Music; Sonic and Haptic Perception; Multisensory Immersion and Biophysical Sensing

Contact Information
vannort@yorku.ca

Frances Wilkinson

Professor Emerita

Areas of Interest

Neuroscience; Pain; Psychophysics; Aging;

Contact Information
franw@yorku.ca

Hugh R. Wilson

Professor Emeritus

Areas of Interest

Form vision; face perception; motion perception

Contact Information
hrwilson@yorku.ca

Georg Zoidl

Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience; Sensory Systems; Functional Genomics & Proteomics

Contact Information
gzoidl@yorku.ca