Core Members

Core members are York Faculty intensively involved in the program and vision research. Core members devote at least 80% of their research to VISTA-related topics.

Doug Crawford

Distinguished Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Visuospatial Memory; Eye Movements; Visuomotor Control

Contact Information
jdc@yorku.ca

Richard Wildes

Associate Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Spatiotemporal analysis of visual information; motion analysis; binocular vision

Contact Information
wildes@cse.yorku.ca

Robert Allison

Professor, YRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Virtual reality; stereopsis; 3D film

Contact Information
allison@cse.yorku.ca

Jacob Beck

Associate Professor, YRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Philosophical theories of perception; cognition; representation; consciousness

Contact Information
jbeck@yorku.ca

Michael Brown

Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; image processing; computer graphics

Contact Information
mbrown@eecs.yorku.ca

Marcus Brubaker

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; machine learning; computational biology

Contact Information
mab@eecs.yorku.ca

Mary Bunch

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Interdisciplinary and collaborative critical disability, feminist, queer studies and critical theory, research creation and arts-based methodologies

Contact Information
bunch@yorku.ca

Gene Cheung

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Graph Signal Processing; 3D Imaging

Contact Information
genec@yorku.ca

Taylor Cleworth



Areas of Interest

Fall-related injuries

Contact Information
tclewort@yorku.ca

James Elder

Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; attentive vision systems; single-view 3D reconstruction

Contact Information
jelder@yorku.ca

Mazyar Fallah

Professor & Associate Dean

Areas of Interest

Oculomotor; Feature Integration; Psychophysics; EEG

Contact Information
mfallah@yorku.ca

Erez Freud

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Object recognition; Visuomotor control; Neuroimaging

Contact Information
efreud@yorku.ca

Ingo Fruend

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Computational neuroscience: psychophysics; machine learning

Contact Information
ifruend@yorku.ca

Laurence Harris

Professor, YRC Tier 1, CVR Director

Areas of Interest

Multisensory; vestibular; psychophysics; orientation and gravity

Contact Information
harris@yorku.ca

Denise Henriques

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Sensorimotor control; Eye, head, limb coordination; Vision, haptics and kinesthesia

Contact Information
deniseh@yorku.ca

Michael Jenkin

Professor

Areas of Interest

Visually guided autonomous systems; virtual reality; computer vision

Contact Information
jenkin@cse.yorku.ca

Peter Kohler



Areas of Interest

visual processing

Contact Information
pjkohler@yorku.ca

Matthew Kyan

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Biologically inspired models for learning; signal processing; knowledge-assisted visualization

Contact Information
mkyan@cse.yorku.ca

Kevin Lande

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Philosophy of Perception, Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Language

Contact Information
lande@yorku.ca

Richard Murray

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Human visual perception; psychophysics; computational modelling; light, shape, surfaces

Contact Information
rfm@yorku.ca

Regina Rini

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Ethics; moral cognition; social epistemology

Contact Information
rarini@yorku.ca

Shayna Rosenbaum

Associate Professor, YRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Medial temporal lobe; prefrontal cortex; patient-lesion method

Contact Information
shaynar@yorku.ca

Lauren Sergio

Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Motor control; eye-hand coordination; neurophysiology

Contact Information
lsergio@yorku.ca

Jennifer Steeves

Associate Professor, Associate Dean Science

Areas of Interest

MRI, TMS, scene perception, eye enucleation, monocular vision

Contact Information
steeves@yorku.ca

Dale Stevens

Assistant Professor, MRI Director

Areas of Interest

Cognitive neuroscience; cognitive aging

Contact Information
stevensd@yorku.ca

Nikolaus Troje

Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Biological motion; space perception; virtual reality

Contact Information
troje@yorku.ca

John Tsotsos

Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Computational vision; mobile robotics; artificial intelligence

Contact Information
tsotsos@cse.yorku.ca

Graham Wakefield

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Interactive generative art; virtual reality; augmented reality; data visualization

Contact Information
grrrwaaa@yorku.ca

Laurie Wilcox

Professor

Areas of Interest

Stereopsis; depth perception; 3D; displays; image quality

Contact Information
lwilcox@yorku.ca

Jianhong Wu

Distinguished Research Professor, NSERC Industrial Chair

Areas of Interest

Delay differential equations; dynamical systems; disease modelling; data analytics

Contact Information
wujh@mathstat.yorku.ca

Joel Zylberberg

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Neural Circuits; Synaptic Plasticity; Machine Learning

Contact Information
joelzy@yorku.ca