Core Members

Core members are York Faculty intensively involved in the program and vision research. Core members devote at least 80% of their research to VISTA-related topics.

Doug Crawford

Distinguished Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Visuospatial Memory; Eye Movements; Visuomotor Control

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
jdc@yorku.ca

Richard Wildes

Associate Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Spatiotemporal analysis of visual information; motion analysis; binocular vision

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
wildes@cse.yorku.ca

Robert Allison

Professor, YRC Tier 2, CVR Director

Areas of Interest

Virtual reality; stereopsis; 3D film

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
allison@cse.yorku.ca

Jacob Beck

Associate Professor, YRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Philosophical theories of perception; cognition; representation; consciousness

School Affiliation
Dept of Philosophy, Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies

Contact Information
jbeck@yorku.ca

Michael Brown

Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; image processing; computer graphics

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
mbrown@eecs.yorku.ca

Marcus Brubaker

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; machine learning; computational biology

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
mab@eecs.yorku.ca

Mary Bunch

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Interdisciplinary and collaborative critical disability, feminist, queer studies and critical theory, research creation and arts-based methodologies

School Affiliation
Dept. of Cinema & Media Arts, School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design

Contact Information
bunch@yorku.ca

Patrick Cavanagh

Senior Research Fellow

Areas of Interest

Visual neuroscience and perception; motion perception, spatial vision, color vision, attentional processes, object recognition, links between art and brain function.

School Affiliation
Glendon Campus, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
patcav1@yorku.ca

Gene Cheung

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Graph Signal Processing; 3D Imaging

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
genec@yorku.ca

Taylor Cleworth

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Sensorimotor; Posture and Gait; Neuromechanics; Virtual Reality; Aging

School Affiliation
School of Kinesiology & Health Science

Contact Information
tclewort@yorku.ca

Patricio Davila

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Information visualization, critical visualization practice, public installation, interaction design, visual design

School Affiliation
Cinema and Media Arts, School of Arts, Media, Performance & Design

Contact Information
pdavila@yorku.ca

James Elder

Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; attentive vision systems; single-view 3D reconstruction

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering & Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
jelder@yorku.ca

Mazyar Fallah

Professor & Associate Dean

Areas of Interest

Oculomotor; Feature Integration; Psychophysics; EEG

School Affiliation
School of Kinesiology and Health Science, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
mfallah@yorku.ca

Caitlin Fisher

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Future of narrative; interactive storytelling; interactive cinema; Augmented Reality

School Affiliation
Dept of Cinema & Media Arts, School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design

Contact Information
caitlin@yorku.ca

Erez Freud

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Object recognition; Visuomotor control; Neuroimaging

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
efreud@yorku.ca

Laurence Harris

Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Multisensory; vestibular; psychophysics; orientation and gravity

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
harris@yorku.ca

Denise Henriques

Professor

Areas of Interest

Sensorimotor control; Eye, head, limb coordination; Vision, haptics and kinesthesia

School Affiliation
School of Kinesiology & Health Science, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
deniseh@yorku.ca

Michael Jenkin

Professor

Areas of Interest

Visually guided autonomous systems; virtual reality; computer vision

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
jenkin@cse.yorku.ca

Peter Kohler

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

visual processing

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
pjkohler@yorku.ca

Matthew Kyan

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Biologically inspired models for learning; signal processing; knowledge-assisted visualization

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
mkyan@cse.yorku.ca

Kevin Lande

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Philosophy of Perception, Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Language

School Affiliation
Dept of Philosophy, Faculty of LA&PS

Contact Information
lande@yorku.ca

Ozzy Mermut

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Biophotonic and complimentary multimodal biophysical techniques; the physics of degenerative diseases; biomarkers and signaling processes in aging.

School Affiliation
Dept of Physics & Astronomy, Faculty of Science

Contact Information
omermut@yorku.ca

Richard Murray

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Human visual perception; psychophysics; computational modelling; light, shape, surfaces

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
rfm@yorku.ca

Regina Rini

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Ethics; moral cognition; social epistemology

School Affiliation
Dept of Philosophy, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies

Contact Information
rarini@yorku.ca

Shayna Rosenbaum

Professor, YRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Medial temporal lobe; prefrontal cortex; patient-lesion method

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health & Dept of Biology, Faculty of Science

Contact Information
shaynar@yorku.ca

Jeffrey Schall (incoming member)

Scientific Director, York Visual Neurophysiology Centre

Areas of Interest

Neural and computational decision mechanisms that guide, control and monitor behavior.

School Affiliation
Dept of Biology, Faculty of Science

Contact Information
jeffrey.d.schall@vanderbilt.edu

Lauren Sergio

Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Motor control; eye-hand coordination; neurophysiology

School Affiliation
School of Kinesiology and Health Science, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
lsergio@yorku.ca

Jennifer Steeves

Professor, Associate Dean Science

Areas of Interest

MRI, TMS, scene perception, eye enucleation, monocular vision

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health, Dept of Biology, Faculty of Science

Contact Information
steeves@yorku.ca

Dale Stevens

Associate Professor, MRI Director

Areas of Interest

Cognitive neuroscience; cognitive aging

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
stevensd@yorku.ca

Nikolaus Troje

Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Biological motion; space perception; virtual reality

School Affiliation
Dept of Biology, Faculty of Science

Contact Information
troje@yorku.ca

John Tsotsos

Professor, CRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Computational vision; mobile robotics; artificial intelligence

School Affiliation
Dept of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Lassonde School of Engineering

Contact Information
tsotsos@cse.yorku.ca

Graham Wakefield

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Interactive generative art; virtual reality; augmented reality; data visualization

School Affiliation
Dept of Computational Arts, School of Arts, Media, Performance & Design

Contact Information
grrrwaaa@yorku.ca

Laurie Wilcox

Professor, YRC Tier 1

Areas of Interest

Stereopsis; depth perception; 3D; displays; image quality

School Affiliation
Dept of Psychology, Faculty of Health

Contact Information
lwilcox@yorku.ca

Jianhong Wu

Distinguished Research Professor, NSERC Industrial Chair

Areas of Interest

Delay differential equations; dynamical systems; disease modelling; data analytics

School Affiliation
Dept of Mathematics and Statistics, Faculty of Science

Contact Information
wujh@mathstat.yorku.ca

Joel Zylberberg

Assistant Professor, CRC Tier 2

Areas of Interest

Neural Circuits; Synaptic Plasticity; Machine Learning

School Affiliation
Dept of Physics & Astronomy, Faculty of Science

Contact Information
joelzy@yorku.ca