Affiliate Members

Marie Arsalidou

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Cognitive development, fMRI and neuroimaging

School Affiliation
Department of Psychology, National Research University Higher School of Economics Moscow, Russia

Contact Information
marsalidou@hse.ru

Michael Barnett-Cowan

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Virtual reality technology, health and aging research.

School Affiliation
Kinesiology Department, Faculty of Applied Health Sciences, University of Waterloo.

Contact Information
mbc@uwaterloo.ca

Gunnar Blohm

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Visuomotor transformations and multi-sensory integration for arm and eye movements; Inferring 3D space from binocular vision for perception and action; Dynamics of eye-head-hand coordination; Noise, variability, stochastic behavior and Bayesian processes; Perceptual and motor decisions

School Affiliation
Computational Neuroscience, Departments of Biomedical & Molecular Sciences, Psychology, Mathematics & Statistics, and School of Computing, Queen’s University

Contact Information
gunnar.blohm@queensu.ca

Jenny Campos

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Understanding the role of vision in supporting self-motion perception and mobility.

School Affiliation
University Health Network

Contact Information
jennifer.campos@uhn.ca

Erin Cressman

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Sensorimotor control; motor learning; neuroscience

School Affiliation
Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ottawa

Contact Information
Erin.Cressman@uottawa.ca

Jody Culham

Professor

Areas of Interest

Cognitive neuroscience; sensorimotor control; visual perception; parietal cortex; grasping, reaching;
tool use; object recognition; functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI); behavior; kinematics; psychophysics

School Affiliation
Department of Psychology, Western University, Graduate Program in Neuroscience

Contact Information
jculham@uwo.ca

Kosta Derpanis

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Computer vision; machine learning; deep learning; video representation; human activity understanding in video; 3D object reasoning

School Affiliation
Computer Science, Ryerson University

Contact Information
kosta@scs.ryerson.ca

Deborah Giaschi

Professor

Areas of Interest

The typical and atypical development of motion perception, stereopsis and reading ability in humans, using psychophysics and functional MRI.

School Affiliation
Department of Ophthalmology, University of British Columbia

Contact Information
giaschi@mail.ubc.ca

Batshi Hadad

Senior Lecturer

Areas of Interest

Perceptual development, cognitive development, autism and visual deprivation

School Affiliation
Department of Special Education, University of Haifa, Israel

Contact Information
bhadad22@gmail.com

Mark Halko

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Use of resting-state (doing nothing) fMRI to examine these network dynamics in healthy and neurological/psychiatric populations with a goal of developing novel treatment protocols for neurological and psychiatric illness.

School Affiliation
Neurology, Harvard University

Contact Information
mhalko@bidmc.harvard.edu

Rainer Herpers

Director, Institute of Visual Computing

Areas of Interest

The science of Virtual Environments and the effect of exercise in VR, cognitive processing in VR, traffic simulations, and the perceptual upright.

School Affiliation
Institute of Visual Computing, Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University

Contact Information
rainer.herpers@h-brs.de

Elizabeth Irving

Professor

Areas of Interest

The natural development of the eye and visual system and the capacity for adaptation of the eye and visual system to environmental influences.

School Affiliation
School of Optometry and Vision Science, University of Waterloo

Contact Information
elirving@uwaterloo.ca

Bill Kapralos

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Acoustical modeling, 3D (spatial) sound generation, multi-modal virtual environments/reality and the perception of auditory events.

School Affiliation
Faculty of Business and Information Technology, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Contact Information
bill.kapralos@uoit.ca

Aarlenne Khan

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

Ocular movement; attention; arm movement; cognitive functions

School Affiliation
School of Optometry, University of Montreal

Contact Information
aarlenne.khan@umontreal.ca

Laurence Maloney

Professor

Areas of Interest

Visual perception, decision making and movement planning.

School Affiliation
Department of Psychology, New York University

Contact Information
ltm1@nyu.edu

Julio Martinez

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Neurophysiological bases of attention; Neural mechanisms of working memory; Pathophysiology of Autism Spectrum Disorders

School Affiliation
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, Western University

Contact Information
julio.martinez@robarts.ca

Tirin Moore

Professor

Areas of Interest

Neural mechanisms of visual-motor integration and the neural basis of cognition; activity of single neurons in visual and motor structures within the brain

School Affiliation
Neurobiology, Stanford University

Contact Information
tirin@stanford.edu

Matthias Niemeier

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Cognitive neuropsychology; attention; sensorimotor integration; perception, eye movement

School Affiliation
Department of Psychology, University of Toronto

Contact Information
niemeier@utsc.utoronto.ca

Stephen Palmisano

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Virtual Reality and Related Simulation; Psychology; Cognitive Sciences

School Affiliation
Faculty of Social Sciences, Univeristy of Wollongong Australia

Contact Information
stephenp@uow.edu.au

Alvaro Quevedo

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

virtual reality; 3DUI; serious games; simulation; mechatronics; HCI

School Affiliation
Ontario Tech University, Faculty of Business and Information Technology

Contact Information
alvaro.quevedo@uoit.ca

Jennifer Ryan

Professor

Areas of Interest

The nature of memory, including the deficits that are observed in aging and in amnesia.

School Affiliation
Departments of Psychology and Psychiatry, University of Toronto

Contact Information
jryan@research.baycrest.org

Adam Sachs

Assistant Professor

Areas of Interest

deep brain stimulation, movement disorders, brain-computer interface, machine learning, and neuroimaging

School Affiliation
Brain and Mind Research Institute, University of Ottawa

Contact Information
asachs@toh.ca

Jacqueline Snow

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Object perception, real-world objects, attention, fMRI, and neuropsychology

School Affiliation
Department of Psychology, University of Nevada

Contact Information
snow@unr.edu

Nathan Spreng

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Attention, memory, cognitive control, and social cognition, and the interacting brain networks that support them.

School Affiliation
Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery, McGill University

Contact Information
nathan.spreng@mcgill.ca

Steven Waslander

Associate Professor

Areas of Interest

Simultaneous localization and mapping with dynamic camera clusters, and perception for autonomous driving.

School Affiliation
Institute for Aerospace Studies, University of Toronto

Contact Information
stevenw@utias.utoronto.ca